Elmer’s Glue Crackle Paint – Pintested

crackleyall

Yes, its true. You can make paint crackle using Elmer’s glue. Why is this good news? It saves you tons of money and gives you a designer look for your old furniture. What else could we ask for? Well, some trial and error information might be helpful if you want to try this nifty project on your own. If you have never refinished furniture before, know and be prepared for the time and step by step process it takes to get a piece right. To get to the finished product, I had to:

  • Clean
  • Sand
  • Re-clean
  • Primer
  • Apply base coat (turquoise) – let dry
  • Apply glue to areas I wanted to crackle
  • Apply top coat – let dry
  • Sand to distress
  • Glaze

It is a long process, but well worth the work!

(I do not know if this wooden sign above was aged using any kind of crackle method, but the Elmer’s Glue method would work wonderfully on such projects. I just liked the expression, as it is as southern as I am, and it links back to a pretty neat blog. Enjoy!)

Here is the ORIGINAL PIN for the crackle effect using Elmer’s Glue.

cracklepaint

This site gives you pretty good instructions with a lot of visuals.

 

 

 

 

I did my own piece using this same method.

This is what I started with:

cracklecabbef

Since this is not a tutorial on refinishing I will skip right to the heart of the matter, the crackling!

I only wanted to do a few areas in crackle, not the entire thing. An authentically aged piece is worn differently in different areas. It is rare that the finish is the same throughout. The key is to know the different techniques for getting the right effect where you need it.

Here are the areas I applied the glue to get the crackle effect:

IMG_0744                                IMG_0734                  IMG_0746

If you will notice the middle and the last picture have sort of a sagging effect. The last picture, more like a run. This was due to lack of experience. I applied the glue while the chest was standing upright. Believe it or not, the glue is heavy and will run if you are not careful. I probably applied it a little to thick as well. I tried to remedy it by tilting the chest onto its back so the surface I was painting was more flat.

The first picture, to the far left was perfect. Apparently there was just the right amount of glue on that one. I’m ok with it though. Nothing wears the same, and too much perfection can appear fake when doing something like this.

*Just remember, BEWARE of ‘the runs’ when crackling with Elmer’s Glue!

This is the finished project

IMG_0738

I went from an unusable antique sideboard to a fully functional, and beautiful (if I must say so myself) dresser! But I needn’t say so myself as I get tons of compliments on it. Makes a girl feel quite special 😉

If you are taking on a similar project, please let me know. I would love to see your results with this method. Thanks for reading, and remember, you are more than welcome to use anything in this post, but please always link back to the original post. That plagiarism is nasty business!

4 responses to “Elmer’s Glue Crackle Paint – Pintested

Leave a Reply

